18 DAYS!!!

Leadville2

Well, here it is….Only 18 days until I start my official Training for the Silver Rush 50 in Leadville Colorado! A 50 mile Trail Race, that STARTS at 10,200 feet in elevation and should top out at over 12,000 feet, 4 times. I fully admit that I signed up to do this on my own accord, I was not coerced or tricked into registering, and I am not complaining about either the Training or the Race itself. I have a group of friends who have said that they will come and support me, and I know that I will have Family Support through training and at the Race itself, but I am here to tell you, I am SCARED SHITLESS!!!!! I can say it again, if you didn’t get it, but I am truly scared about this endeavour I am about to embark on!

I do consider myself a runner. I am not a Fast Runner, but I can still run, and I do enjoy it. I will not win any races, but I AM a runner. So why should I be scared of this race? And if I am scared, why did I sign up in the First Place. Well, that can be answered by looking back to August of 2012. I went up to Leadville in August to go and Support a friend who was racing in the Leadville 100. You see, he had won the Silver Rush 50 weeks earlier, and almost broke the course record, without even knowing what the record was. It was also the First time he had EVER run that distance. Now don’t think for a minute that I have those delusions! No, my friend Mike is a 2 time Olympian from New Zealand, and he can run races to Win! I went and watched him race, and then volunteered at the Last Aid Station of a 100 mile trail race, from 5:30pm until 6:45am the next morning, when the dreaded Cut-Off Lady arrived, and had the un-enviable task of telling people that they could go no further in their race. I watched, and helped, not only the Front-Runners, and eventual winners of the 2012 Leadville 100, but I also got to see EVERY SINGLE finisher of the race. You see, everyone had to come through our Aid-Station. People came through All Night Long, and even up until the Cut-Off, and it was one of the most inspiring things I have ever been a part of. So of Course, I figured that, with the proper training, I could complete the Silver Rush 50.

So here I sit, 18 days from my Official Training Start Date, and I am seriously questioning whether I have over-commited, whether I have stepped into something that will overwhelm me to the point of not making my Cut-Off Time of 14 mile for running 50 mile, on Trails that Start at 10,200 feet, and Only go Up from There!

I know that deep Down inside, that I can do this, that I can put in the training miles and Finish this race. When I sit down and think about it, I get emotional about what it would be like to cross the Finish line.

So, I took a few hours before writing this again and I must say, I am in a much better place than I was when I started writing this morning. I am sure that some of it was a bit of an over reaction when I determined that I only had 18 days until I start training. That coupled with the fact that I started realizing that it was going to be difficult to Work, Coach High School Lacrosse, be an Ambassador for the Colfax marathon, be a Family Man, AND work my Training Schedule into the mix.

Bottom Line is this. I WILL DO THIS. I will Make it work, and I will get my Training done! I am going to have to use this Fear as a Motivator. I will Do what I need to do, because I WANT that Silver Bracelet, the one I will probably Never wear, and I want that Finishers Medal. I may need to rely on my Family and Friends a lot, so if I look or sound like I need help, please reach out to me. I appreciate that you guys listened to me, and I look forward to Crossing The Finish Line in July!

If you have any comments, feel free to leave them.

Thanks,

Mitch

2 thoughts on “18 DAYS!!!

  1. Hey,
    I also live in Castle Rock and I will be lining up with you at the Silver Rush 50! I have done numerous ultras and all are an adventure so just enjoy every part of it. Once you cross that finishline it’ll all be worth it. Let me know when you are getting out to run I would like to have someone to run with. Good luck,
    Stephen!

Leave a Reply

