2014 Silver Rush Training Week 5

CRAZY WEEK! Lots of Lacrosse, Lots of work, and a 50K Race at the end of the week! But it seemed like just another week of training for me. I actually don’t know what I am going to do once Lacrosse is over. I still haven’t had my Mid-Week Runs bumped up yet, but that is coming soon. Everything was pretty much the same for Timed runs.

Monday-Rest Day

Monday was a Rest Day, which is good, but I, or course, had a Lacrosse game, so even though I wasn’t running, I was still spending Plenty of Time on my Feet that day. YES-we finally won a Junior Varsity Game! 🙂

Tuesday-45 Minutes

I have been getting slightly bored of running the same loops at work, so I tried something different today! I work right next to Centennial Airport, so I decided to run around part of the Airport. It was just something different and not really that cool, but I did notice that there are TONS of motorcycles around there, even at 4:45am! I ran 4.72 miles in 46:34 for a 9:52 pace. I did my road run in my Mizuno Wave Inspire 9’s.

Wednesday-60 Minutes

Warm Morning! It was 55 degrees according to my Garmin. Obviously, it was a Shorts and Short-sleeved shirt day, but when is it NOT for me? Anyway, I cruised around part of the Airport again, and it was a Cruise. I was trying to just go nice and slow. I have been running without my music because my iPod isn’t working, and so I was running through the upcoming 50K Trail Race, and I really started to freak out about the race, which got my run out of whack. Bottom Line, is don’t think too much when running! Anyway, I ran 5.32 miles in 55:29 for a 10:26 pace. Again, this run was in my Mizuno Wave Inspire 9’s.

Thursday-45 Minutes

OK, so I  had this 50K looming on the horizon, and I needed to get my wife to an EARLY Dr’s Appointment, so I thought it would be a good idea to make today a rest day, since I would be on my feet for a Long Time on Saturday!

Friday-Rest Day

Built in Rest Day, and another 2 Lacrosse Games on tap, so again, a longer day, and plenty of time on my feet! Anyway, I was glad that I was getting a bit more rest, because my legs were feeling heavy for some reason. Thankful for the Rest!

Saturday-3.5-4 hours

So, the day has finally come! The Cheyenne Mountain 50K Trail Race! I had finally come to the conclusion that this would just be a well supported 50K Training Run. One where I would work on Nutrition and Hydration. I had received my Skratch Labs Hyper Hydration, and I was going to use that and see how my Generation UCAN only, or close to it, Run would go. I get to the Park insanely early because Alex (my Colfax Marathon Ambassador Buddy) and I needed to create a Video for the Colfax Marathon. We get that done, and get our Bibs, and my friends start rolling in. Meaghan, Pat, Donna,Marcus, and Gary, who are running the 25K are there! Cindy, Michelle, Dave, and Alex are running the 50K! We get our obligatory Mile High Track Club-Trail Division Team Picture taken care of, and head to the Start.

The MHTC-Trail Division Representing!

The MHTC-Trail Division Representing!

 

This was an interesting race, it was kind of a Figure 8 or two Lollipops. On the first loop of around 7.5 miles, I was taking it somewhat slowly, and felt good. Alex and I were going back and forth, and we had some good chats. around mile 6 I kind of lost him, but figured he would catch me on the second loop. It was already warm, and I was realizing I was not drinking enough. The second section started, and I hit an Aid Station, and refilled my bottle and mixed my Skratch Hydration, but DID NOT start my second bottle of Generation UCAN! Big Mistake. Anyway, I was feeling pretty bad by now, not drinking enough, and pretty much out of energy. Mile 11 comes and the final descent of the FIRST Loop. I had to make the call to “Downgrade” to the 25K. There was no way I would be able to make it around the course a 2nd time. I will CERTAINLY do a write-up on this race, but for now, I ran 15.18 miles in 3:50:45 for a pace of :12 with 1993 feet of Elevation. I ran in my New Balance 1210 Leadville Editions.

Sunday-3 Hours

So I did not plan on running today, since I had “planned” on running a 50K the day before. Since that did not work out, I decided to hit up the MHTC-Trail Division Sunday Trail run. We ran at Green Mountain. The weather was not very good, but at least there was no Rain. We could see it in the distance, but it stayed away for the whole run, which was nice! It was really Really windy in places, though.

with the wind, I can see Why this was sign was there!

with the wind, I can see Why this was sign was there!

It was a good run, especially since I had never been to Green Mountain before, and we just ran, and explored. I got 7.6 miles in 1:34:33 for a pace of 12:26 and got 1235 feet of Elevation. I also rocked my New Balance 1210 Leadville Editions.

So, the Week of running didn’t go exactly as planned, but hopefully I learned something from the issues on Saturday. I still did have a pretty good week. I ran 32.81 miles with a total elevation gain of 3769 feet. Next week, I believe that my Mid-Week Times go up! Anyway, I thank you for following along and reading!

 

Thanks,

Mitch

 

Leave a Reply

